top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLiv

Food for Fuel~Welcome to my Blog

Updated: Feb 27, 2019

Welcome to my blog! Since this is my first entry, I want to share with all of you why I have created this site.

Growing up, I never thought twice about what I ate. Luckily, my parents provided me with plenty of nutritious foods. My mom would make home cooked meals and pack me a balanced lunch; however, I never made the connection between the food I ate to how I felt during my daily activities. As I grew older, what I consumed became more important for my skating career. I needed to learn how to fuel my body the right way.

Although I have been a figure skater for most of my life, over the past four years I've learned a lot about myself and what my body needs so I can be my best. These four years were good but far from easy. Along with some amazing moments, I went through some hardships that were not so fun. Through every up and down I was able to learn and grow from each experience.

Through this journey, I have developed a curiosity for nutrition and a passion for cooking. I want to pursue a career in the field of nutrition some day.


Being a pairs skater, it's very common for the girls to want to be super thin. Along with the aesthetics in figure skating, pair girls want to feel light for their partners to lift. The hardest thing for me is to watch skaters deprive themselves. I believe your health is most important and should not be deprived for anything or anyone. As my body's needs change per activity, I understand the importance of using food as my fuel. The food you put in your body and the time at which you eat it can have an impact on performance. Whatever your goal, there is a way to fuel healthily.

Preparing food for yourself requires time and effort. I find value and joy in prepping my meals and cooking. Someone once told me to treat your body like an expensive car. A car needs fuel to drive and you want to give it the best quality fuel you can; cars don't run on empty and neither should we.

The purpose of this blog? I enjoy showcasing photos of the meals I make through pictures on my instagram account @whole.cal.so.cal , but I want to share more. More meaning everything from recipes, coffee shops, mindfulness, day to day life of an athlete, and anything else that comes to mind. Creating this blog gives me the chance to hopefully inspire, help and connect with many different people. I want to be an advocate for competitive athletes like myself and anyone out there who care to lead a balanced wholesome, healthy lifestyle.

With that being said, I hope you subscribe to my blog and share it with others! Let me know of any recipes, coffee shops, and/or food suggestions you may have for me! To my family and friends, thank you for your continuous love and support; I am forever grateful.

400 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page