top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLiv

A Place Called Home


Hi everyone! Life has been a bit crazy this spring. Last september, my skating partner Mervin and I moved from California to Montreal for our training. We were also living part time at my parents home in upstate NY on weekends. Averaging at about 25 hours of driving a week, its fare to say we are a little crazy. But we were determined to do what we had during this time to make our training situation work. After 8 months of this lifestyle, training became harder and harder. The countless hours on the road were catching up to us no matter how determined we were. We knew we needed to find a better solution for ourselves and a situation where we can settle down in one place. Until that time came, we were committed to our drives and schedule with our team in Montreal.


To make our crazy schedule work, took lots of prep. Food was always thought out so we could have energy and fuel on the go. Proper car snacks were always a must! Those 3.5-4 hour trips across the border were bearable with proper snacking. Monday evenings around 11pm we would arrive in Montreal, so I always made sure we had groceries with us for food in the morning and our training day on Tuesday.


A little over a month ago, we got word from our coach that he is relocating to Toronto. With Mervin’s status in his U.S. citizen process, we could not follow our coach to Toronto. We needed to find ourselves a home in the states to train. Our coach’s announcement of his move, was our sign that it was time we put an end to all this driving and find our new training base. Long story short, we have found a new coaching team in Monsey, NY. We are absolutely thrilled to be working with coaches Jason Briggs and Jana Brazee. After a week tryout with these coaches in early April, we immediately felt comfortable working with them. We are all looking forward to working together and consistently training in one place.


The first week of May, we made the move! Training with our new coaches began as well as apartment hunting. After three days spent in Rockland county, we found an apartment and signed a lease. This was such an incredible feeling. After moving 4 times since January 2018, I can only hope this will be the last for quite a few years. Signing the papers made this transition feel that much more official in the best kind of way. I’ve enjoyed our crazy lifestyle the last 8 months, but I’m ready to settle down. I can honestly say that it will be so nice not living out of a suitcase all the time and having one place to call home.


As well as training at the rink full time; I will be pretty busy unpacking, furnishing and getting things in order. After I am all settled in, I am very excited to continue to grow this blog and share with you all the fun things in my life. Let me tell ya, the kitchen in our new home is quite nice! So, I am super excited to get cooking. Thank you to all who have followed my blog thus far and I look forward to getting back to more posting very soon!


I am so incredibly blessed to have this opportunity and could not be here without the support of my parents. Very grateful for all that my coaches in Montreal have given me and excited to improve my skating with Jason, and Jana. Give me a little time, and I will be back to blogging, cooking, and experimenting with you all!


P.S. if anyone has a couch they are looking to get rid of….I am in need!!! I am happily sitting on my carpet but let's just say, the driving got old, and so will sitting on the floor.

613 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page